Oregon Child Occupant Protection Law
Oregon law assists drivers in the decision of how to properly restrain and
protect children in motor vehicles. When children are properly restrained it
significantly decreases the severity of injuries and number of fatalities that
occur in a crash. Oregon¹s law reflects national
Oregon CPS Law Flyer (PDF)
Oregon CPS Law Flyer Spanish (PDF)
The failure to properly use safety belts or child restraints is a Class D traffic violation
a $142.00 fine—ORS 811.210 and ORS 815.055, effective October 1, 2009.
Pick Up Truck Restrictions
Prohibits children under 18 years of age from riding in the open bed of a pick up truck.
This offense is a Class B traffic violation resulting in a $242.00 fine.
Idaho's Child Restraint Law
Idaho's Child Passenger Safety Law will require that all children 6 years of age or younger be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety restraint. This is a primary law and the fine is $60.00. This law replaces the language of the old law concerning weight and age requirements of children being transported in a motor vehicle. This law went into effect July 1, 2005.
An appropriate child restraint is a child safety seat for children up to 40 lbs and a belt positioning booster seat for children 6 years or younger. Lap-belt only seating positions should not be used with a booster seat.
Washington's Child Restraint Law
Effective June 1, 2007, children less than eight years old must be restrained in child restraint systems, unless the child is four feet nine inches or taller. A child who is eight years old or older, or four feet nine inches or taller, must be properly restrained either with the motor vehicle's safety belt or an appropriately fitting child restraint system. Children under thirteen years old must be transported in rear seats where it is practical to do so.
The fine for improperly restrained children in motor vehicles is at least $112 per child.